nba slam dunk contest history

The NBA Slam Dunk Contest is coming up with big names finally being in it for the first time in a while. Since 1984, NBA fans have been blessed with great dunk contests, but who were the players we'll most remember from it? We rank the 10 greatest dunkers in NBA Slam Dunk history here.

We'll see if Paul George, John Wall, Terrence Ross, Harrison Barnes, Damian Lillard and Ben McLemore can top these fellas on Saturday night.

Honorable Mention: Dee Brown


Some guys couldn't make the cut. There are simply too many good dunkers that can't make the list, and we have to start it off with Brown. The former Boston Celtics guard was known for his no-look dunk, becoming a champion of the contest in 1991.

10. Dwight Howard


It's not often you see big men in the dunk contest, let alone winning it. Dwight Howard is one of the most athletic centers we have ever seen, and he showed that off in the 2008 Dunk Contest where he earned his "Superman" nickname.

9. Isaiah Rider


Can't go wrong at all with Rider. The former NBA forward took home the 1994 title, while he also became the first player to do the between-the-legs dunk in the contest.

8. Gerald Green


Gerald Green could easily make the case for being one of the greatest in-game dunkers in the NBA, but he also showed off what he could do in the specific field during the 2007 Dunk Contest when he took home the title. Green also played in last year's, but wasn't as impressive.

7. Harold Miner


Harold Miner may not have lived up to his "The Next Michael Jordan" nickname, but he definitely had the hops. Miner was a two-time Slam Dunk Contest champion, taking home the titles in 1993 and 1995.

6. Jason Richardson


Rider may have been the first to do the between-the-legs dunk, but J-Rich could do no wrong when he attempted it as well. The star shooting guard was just awesome and was a back-to-back champion in 2002 and 2003 as a member of the Golden State Warriors.

5. Nate Robinson


Nate Robinson has really made an NBA career for himself now, but back then he was strictly known as a dunker. Robinson may have been 5-foot-9, but he lets his hops do the talking. Robinson is a three-time Slam Dunk champion, winning in 2006, 2009 and 2010.

4. Spud Webb


Spud Webb, like Robinson, is also a great dunker who didn't let his size get to him. Webb was a champion in 1986.

3. Dominique Wilkins


Gotta love when him and Michael Jordan used to face off, but I have to MJ gets the edge when it comes to the Slam Dunk Contest. Wilkins was a champion in 1985 and 1990.

2. Michael Jordan


Jordan is iconic for so many things, and dunking is one of them. Who could forget his dunk from the free throw line? MJ ended up winning the Dunk Contest back-to-back, winning in 1987 and 1988. Jordan may be the GOAT, but he doesn't top this next player on this list.

1. Vince Carter


It has to be Vince. I've never seen someone dominate a Dunk Contest as much as Carter did in 2000. It was over right from the start and every dunk was an instant classic. Vince is easily the greatest Slam Dunk Contest dunker of all time, and possibly the best overall in NBA history.


Low price, available in multiple styles and colors!